Skip to content

Thumbs Up: A Story of One’s Determination

April 21, 2013

Two months ago, I broke my thumb pretty bad.  My hand therapist said it will take about a year until it looks and functions properly.  I have been working on daily exercises and am determined to have to work again.  I am grateful that I still have my thumb (even if I can’t use it right now).  It’s amazing what you can do with determination.  I have been using my middle finger and pointer as if those were my thumb and pointer.  For those who are wondering, it is my left thumb that is broken and I am a righty.  However, you use your hands a lot such as buttoning jeans, eating (cutting food), etc…

The other night I was asked, “How are you making jewelry with a broken thumb?” My response, “Very carefully.”

I love what I do and I take pride in my craftsmanship.  It may take me a little longer now (let’s be honest, sometimes a lot longer).  I am grateful for the inventory I have in stock during this time.  And I am determined not to have barriers get in my way… and they don’t!

“You’ve done it before and you can do it now. See the positive possibilities. Redirect the substantial energy of your frustration and turn it into positive, effective, unstoppable determination.” Ralph Marston

thumbs-up

I chose this picture because every time someone has asked how I’m doing or how my thumb is, it has become a signature motion of a “thumbs up.”

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

