Skip to content

Be Controversial… Really?

May 18, 2011

I have been active on Twitter and follow those who follow me.  I think that’s important to get to know people who show an interest in you. Today, Stacy (one of my twitter friends), listed blogging tips.  I had to take a look.  Number #2 stood out to me: Be Controversial.  Really?  I mean how much controversy should I bring when discussing makeup, jewelry, and fashion?  Should I insult others looks?  Do I give my true opinion on the do’s and don’ts?  Tell me what you think would make “good” controversy.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 18, 2011 2:02 pm

    This is a tough topic for me and people should tread lightly.Even though I mention controversy, I personally steer away from doing it. I would never suggest to insult anyone. I think talking about thing already in the headlines that may be a bit controversial would be more appropriate. That being said… others will be controversial. It is choice, but something I would think long and hard about. Your brand, image and credibility is important.

    Stacy

  2. Jamie Lauren permalink
    May 18, 2011 2:49 pm

    Honestly, I see “controversy” differently in things like make-up and photography. I think you should be controversial in a way that sort of makes people either love you or hate you. You should create an atmosphere where people simply cannot feel luke-warm or apathetic towards you or your brand. Just like with art – you should look at a piece of art and either love it or loathe it. No artist wants you to say you can’t decide whether you like their work or not.

    Same thing here – create controversy, make people take a stand – they’re either with you or against you. That’s it! :O) At least that’s how I would apply it to my business/blog.

Leave a Reply

