Skip to content

Tuesday Tip of the Day: Budgeting & Saving

September 14, 2010

As a woman, I can say I love everything girly from makeup, to lotions, to soaps, etc… When I started to develop a budget as an adult, I thought “Where to start?”  I’m sure there are so many areas I over spend or the outfit I wore once.

Then, I took a mental inventory of my house and realized the bathroom is where I could start.  The place that I love to pamper myself was filled with deodorants, lotions, soaps, shampoos, and more.  Notice everything was plural.  What was I thinking?  Did I really need all of that?  Why buy it, if I already have it?  Who cares if it smells good? So does the stuff I bought prior.

So, I decided to use up what I had before buying it new.  Now, there is only one bottle of shampoo and one bottle of conditioner in my shower.  I will admit, I have a bar soap and shower gel (pick of the variety).  And on some items I have my back up stash. ( That I only purchase when on sale.)  I no longer have 10 different lotions and 3 different eye creams.  I can go on with all the things one carries in a bathroom.  I have saved money and have created more bathroom space (double bonus) from doing this.

So take a look around your bathroom, take an inventory.  If you don’t NEED it, don’t buy it.  You don’t need 3 bottles of shampoo or deodorant in each bag, purse, car, or where ever else you freshen up.  Only purchase the hair moose if you are out and yes, buy the extra bottle if it’s on sale.  Hope this helps!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

