Skip to content

Etsy Teams: Good or Bad???

September 1, 2010

I always try to stay positive, be a good influence on others, and motivate people.  However, I am human and I can’t always bite my tongue.  I am an active user on twitter and have found so many great supporters.  I’m also on facebook and etsy.

If you’re not too familiar with twitter, after a tweet (that’s the message you post on twitter), some people use a hashtag.  The hashtag is the number sign (#) and some words to help narrow it down.  Example: #jewelry.  So the people who want to see jewelry stuff would type in “jewelry” in the search bar and those who wrote it, it will come up.

Okay, now that you have a little understanding of this- I too do that.  I did this the other day and an etsy team member wrote me an email.  She politely asked me to stop, that her team “owns” it and I shouldn’t do it anymore (really!?!, this was so not a copy write issue).

I didn’t write anything special- just the type of items I sell on etsy.  I was so thrown off by this for a few reasons: 1. I have contacted different teams on etsy (including the one who emailed me and never heard back 2. Someone else that works for me has contacted etsy groups and she too never heard back 3. I have found such great supporters and online friends through twitter, etsy, etc…  This lady left such a bad taste about the etsy teams, especially hers.  If you have had a good experience and have suggestions- let me know.  I would love to be on a team if they aren’t all like that.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 1, 2010 6:43 pm

    I don’t think anyone owns a hash tag. Twitter does not say anything about it. Maybe she thinks her etsy group owns the hash for etsy sellers. I think she’s just being a bully.

  2. September 1, 2010 7:56 pm

    REALLY?!? Holy whoa. Great way to advertise, there, lady. I think I’ll start using the #jewelry hashtag randomly now, just to be a witch.

    I can’t believe she thinks she OWNS a hashtag. It’s freaking TWITTER, lady. YOU DON’T OWN ANYTHING. Not to mention, you were contacted TWICE about your team, and couldn’t be bothered to respond.

    Ugh. Bad taste, indeed.

  3. Karen permalink
    September 1, 2010 7:57 pm

    That is silly! About as ridiculous as FisherPrice saying they own the tag #toys!!!

Leave a Reply

