Skip to content

Ins and Outs: Issue 1

April 19, 2010

It seems like everyone wants to know the ins and outs about having a business.  I’m pretty open to it but by no means and expert.  I could always learn more from others.

One thing that has helped is social networking.  I have tried the networking groups.  I think people either love them or hate them.  I wasn’t the biggest fan.  I tried to different groups and was friendly on a weekly basis.  It takes time to go to those events with driving and then lasting at least an hour and a half, it’s time consuming.  People who sell insurance it may work, knowing someone in that industry always does.  However, for jewelry– people are watching every penny these days.  It’s not like I could bring a whole display to every meeting.  I would dress cute and try to wear a different piece on a weekly basis.  Although a sale here or there would be beneficial.  It didn’t balance out for me.  Again, I’m not saying networking groups are bad, just not my cup of tea.

The great thing about social networking is you can do it while in work-mode or in your PJ’s.  The most popular are Facebook, Linkedin, and Twitter.  There are many more sites, but those are my favorite.  The most important thing is to be friendly, even if you don’t feel like it.  You scratch my back, I scratch yours philosophy.  I have met some great people from all over through people and on my own.  It has connected me to all over the world and has helped on the search engines as well.  That’s what I call a double-bonus!

Photography compliments of Karen Lisa Artistic Photography.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

